data.medicaid.gov

HealthCare.gov Marketplace Medicaid Unwinding Report

Metrics from individual Marketplaces during the current reporting period.

Freshness

Last posted
Period covered
Update frequency

Dates as CMS lists them in its catalog.

Columns 30

ColumnWhat it meansType
Statestatestring
MetricmetricMetric name.string
April 2023: Net Countapril_2023_net_counttext
April 2023: Net Percentageapril_2023_net_percentagetext
May 2023: Net Countmay_2023_net_counttext
May 2023: Net Percentagemay_2023_net_percentagetext
June 2023: Net Countjune_2023_net_counttext
June 2023: Net Percentagejune_2023_net_percentagetext
July 2023: Net Countjuly_2023_net_counttext
July 2023: Net Percentagejuly_2023_net_percentagetext
August 2023: Net Countaugust_2023_net_counttext
August 2023: Net Percentageaugust_2023_net_percentagetext
September 2023: Net Countseptember_2023_net_counttext
September 2023: Net Percentageseptember_2023_net_percentagetext
October 2023: Net Countoctober_2023_net_counttext
October 2023: Net Percentageoctober_2023_net_percentagetext
November 2023: Net Countnovember_2023_net_counttext
November 2023: Net Percentagenovember_2023_net_percentagetext
December 2023: Net Countdecember_2023_net_counttext
December 2023: Net Percentagedecember_2023_net_percentagetext
January 2024: Net Countjanuary_2024_net_counttext
January 2024: Net Percentagejanuary_2024_net_percentagetext
February 2024: Net Countfebruary_2024_net_counttext
February 2024: Net Percentagefebruary_2024_net_percentagetext
March 2024: Net Countmarch_2024_net_counttext
March 2024: Net Percentagemarch_2024_net_percentagetext
April 2024: Net Countapril_2024_net_counttext
April 2024: Net Percentageapril_2024_net_percentagetext
April 2024: Cumulative Countapril_2024_cumulative_counttext
April Cumulative 2024: Percentageapril_cumulative_2024_percentagetext

At a glance

Catalog
data.medicaid.gov
Publisher
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), data.medicaid.gov
Rows
204
Columns
30
State column
state
Topics
Medicaid and CHIP
Contact
Medicaid.gov@cms.hhs.gov

API

Free, no key needed. This request returns the first 10 rows as JSON:

https://data.medicaid.gov/api/1/datastore/query/9a83ba5e-05f5-47f5-82de-f3a59233a912/0?limit=10

To keep only one state, filter on the state column.

CMS's description

Metrics from individual Marketplaces during the current reporting period. The report includes data for the states using HealthCare.gov. As of August 2024, CMS is no longer releasing the “HealthCare.gov” metrics. Historical data between July 2023-July 2024 will remain available. The “HealthCare.gov Transitions” metrics, which are the CAA, 2023 required metrics, will continue to be released. Sources: HealthCare.gov application and policy data through May 5, 2024, and T-MSIS Analytic Files (TAF) through March 2024 (TAF version 7.1 with T-MSIS enrollment through the end of March 2024). Data include consumers in HealthCare.gov states where the first unwinding renewal cohort is due on or after the end of reporting month (state identification based on HealthCare.gov policy and application data). State data start being reported in the month when the state's first unwinding renewal cohort is due. April data include Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska, New Hampshire, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Utah, West Virginia, and Wyoming. May data include the previous states and the following new states: Alaska, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Montana, North Dakota, South Carolina, Texas, and Virginia. June data include the previous states and the following new states: Alabama, Illinois, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, Tennessee, and Wisconsin. July data include the previous states and Oregon. All HealthCare.gov states are included in this version of the report. Notes: This table includes Marketplace consumers who: 1) submitted a HealthCare.gov application on or after the start of each state’s first reporting month; and 2) who can be linked to an enrollment record in TAF that shows Medicaid or CHIP enrollment between March 2023 and the latest reporting month. Cumulative counts show the number of unique consumers from the included population who had a Marketplace application submitted or a HealthCare.gov Marketplace policy on or after the start of each state’s first reporting month through the latest reporting month. Net counts show the difference between the cumulative counts through a given reporting month and previous reporting months. The data used to produce the metrics are organized by week. Reporting months start on the first Monday of the month and end on the first Sunday of the next month when the last day of the reporting month is not a Sunday. For example, the April 2023 reporting period extends from Monday, April 3 through Sunday, April 30. Data are preliminary and will be restated over time to reflect consumers most recent HealthCare.gov status. Data may change as states resubmit T-MSIS data or data quality issues are identified. Data do not represent Marketplace consumers who had a confirmed Medicaid/CHIP loss. Future reporting will look at coverage transitions for people who lost Medicaid/CHIP. See the data and methodology documentation for a full description of the data sources, measure definitions, and general data limitations. Data notes: Virginia operated a Federally Facilitated Exchange (FFE) on the HealthCare.gov platform during 2023. In 2024, the state started operating a State Based Marketplace (SBM) platform. This table only includes data on 2023 applications and policies obtained through the HealthCare.gov Marketplace. Due to limited Marketplace activity on the HealthCare.gov platform in December 2023, data from December 2023 onward are excluded. The cumulative count and percentage for Virginia and the HealthCare.gov total reflect Virginia data from April 2023 through November 2023. The report may include negative 'net counts,' which reflect that there were cumulatively fewer counts from one month to the next. Wyoming has negative ‘net counts’ for most of its metrics in March 2024, including 'Marketplace Consumers with Previous Medicaid or CHIP Enrollment.' Negative counts reflect that there were cumulatively fewer individual counts from one month to the next. The net percentages have been replaced with an asterisk for March 2024 due to the uninterpretable values. Percentages shown are of total Marketplace consumers with previous Medicaid or CHIP enrollment. Some cells have a value of "NR" or not reported. State data starts being reported in the month when the state's first unwinding renewal cohort is due. APTC: Advance Premium Tax Credit; CHIP: Children's Health Insurance Program; NR: Not reported; QHP: Qualified Health Plan

The summary at the top is the first sentence of this description. Record id mcd:9a83ba5e-05f5-47f5-82de-f3a59233a912. This record as JSON.

Keyboard shortcuts

/
Jump to the search box (or the column filter on a dataset page)
Esc
Clear the search box, or close this panel
↓ ↑
Move through the results from the search box
Enter
Open the highlighted result
?
Show this panel